American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons Legacy of Heroes
LOH home page: click
photo gallery: click
locate doctor by country of service: click
traveling exhibit info: click
view film trailer: click
letter from AAOS: click
contact AAOS: click
acknowledgements: click
go to AAOS home page: click

This site is made possible
by a generous educational grant from Pfizer, Inc.
Pfizer logo


A special thank you to the following companies, organizations,
and individuals who made Legacy of Heroes possible:

Diamond Sponsor:

Platinum Sponsors:

Gold Sponsor:
Corporate Advisory Council, American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons

Silver Sponsor:
Smith + Nephew Orthopaedics

Bronze Sponsors:
LUNAR Corporation
Henry Schein, Inc.
Synthes USA
Innomed, Inc.
Musculoskeletal Transplant Foundation
National Association of Orthopaedic Nurses
Paragon Medical, Inc.
Smith + Nephew, Inc., Endoscopy Division
William W. Tipton, Jr., MD
James N. Weinstein, DO, MS

The traveling exhibit has been made possible by a grant from the
George M. Boswell, Jr., MD Fund for Orthopaedic Surgery of the
Wichita Falls Area Community Foundation.

Special thanks to the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
Board of Directors 2002, for making this project possible:

Vernon T. Tolo, MD

First Vice President
James H. Herndon, MD

Second Vice President
Robert W. Bucholz, MD

E. Anthony Rankin, MD

Andrew J. Weiland, MD

Treasurer-Elect (ex officio)
Edward A. Toriello, MD

First Past President
Richard H. Gelberman, MD

Second Past President
S. Terry Canale, MD

Chair, Board of Councilors
Lowry Jones, Jr., MD

Chair-Elect, Board of Councilors
Maureen Finnegan, MD

Secretary, Board of Councilors
Peter J. Mandell, MD

Chair, COMSS
Peter C. Amadio, MD

Chair-Elect, COMSS
David G. Lewallen, MD

Secretary, COMSS
Glenn B. Pfeffer, MD

Stephen A. Albanese, MD
Stephen Patrick England, MD, MPH
James N. Weinstein, DO, MS
Gerald R. Williams, Jr.

Chair, Council on Communications
Stuart A. Hirsch, MD

Chair, Council on Academic Affairs
Joseph P. Iannotti, MD, PhD

Chair, Council on Research and Scientific Affairs
Joshua J. Jacobs, MD

Chair, Council on Health Policy and Practice
Alan H. Morris, MD

Chair, Council on Education
Joseph D. Zuckerman, MD

Chair, Public Education and Media Relations Committee
John M. Purvis, MD

Executive Vice President
William W. Tipton, Jr., MD

Deputy Executive Vice President
Lawrence E. Rosenthal, PhD

Executive Editor; Director, Public Education
and Media Relations

Sandra R. Gordon

Editorial Assistant
Addy Kujawa

Special thanks to the following who generously shared
their talents and sage advice:

A. Herbert Alexander, MD

Paul W. Brown, MD

Daniel R. Benson, MD

Peter Carter, MD

Robert D. D'Ambrosia, MD

Paul J. Dougherty, MD

John Greenwood, Chief,
Office of Medical History,
US Army Surgeon General

Norman Grunewald

Jan K. Herman, Historian,
Navy Medical Department,
Bureau of Medicine and Surgery

J. William Littler, MD

Walter M.P. McCall

Stephen E. Novak, Head,
Archives and Special Collections, Augustus C. Long
Health Sciences Library,
Columbia University

William R. Loscher, MD

David Seligson, MD

Special thanks to the following Orthopaedic Surgeons who graciously
shared their stories with us and made this project possible:

Seymour M. Albert, MD
Chester K. Barta, MD
Jack S. Blaisdell, MD
George M. Boswell, Jr., MD
Frank J. Boutin, Sr., MD
Paul W. Brown, MD
Richard Lee Brown, MD
Robert E. Carroll, MD
Lewis Cozen, MD
William Donaldson, MD
Anthony F. DePalma, MD
William Donaldson, MD
William R. Duncan, MD

Robert W. Florence, MD
Joseph C. Flynn, MD
Samuel H. Fraerman, MD
Zachary B. Friedenberg, MD
Barry Friedman, MD
J. Leonard Goldner, MD
Nathaniel Gould, MD
Robert M. Hall, MD
John T. Hayes, MD
John F. Hume, MD
Haven E. Jones, MD
Patrick G. Laing, MD
Eli M. Lippman, MD

Eugene Loopesko, MD
Arthur Messinger, MD
Paul R. Milligan, MD
O'Neill L. Pollingue, Jr., MD
Moses Rabson, MD
Robert D. Ray, MD
Andrew C. Ruoff, III, MD
Thomas E. Ryan, MD
Marcus J. Stewart, MD
Barbara Bartlett
Simpson, MD
Leon L. Wiltse, MD
Robert M. Yanchus, MD

Special thanks to the Academy members who served in World War II
and graciously agreed to be telephone-interviewed:

James P. Ahstrom, Jr., MD
William A. Baird, MD
Robert M. Barnett, Sr., MD
Bradford S. Bennett, MD
Joseph E. Brown, MD
Stanley A. Clark, Jr., MD
John Clasen, MD
Jonathan Cohen, MD
Russell F. Compton, MD
Wiliam A. Craig, MD
Thomas B. Dameron, Jr., MD
Paul M. Davis, Jr., MD
Robert H. Denham, Jr., MD
Thomas L. Duncan, MD
Don Leroy Eyler, MD
Chester F. Fee, MD
Richard L. Fenton, MD
Adrian E. Flatt, MD
Leo A. Green, MD

Worth Miller Gross, MD
Harle B. Grover, MD
Martin R. Haig, MD
T.C. Harper, MD
J. Ted Hartman, MD
Robert S. Hormell, MD
Andrew G. Hudacek, MD
Wiliam E. Hummel, MD
Einer W. Johnson, Jr., MD
Robert J. W. Kinzel, MD
Duane M. Kline, Jr., MD
Harry G. Kroll, MD
J. Harold LaBriola, MD
Howard W. Lagerquist, MD
Robert F. Landstra, MD
Ralph T. Lidge, MD
Stanley W. Lipinski, MD
Irving G. Manning, MD
Newton C. McCollough, MD

H. Clay Messenger, Jr., MD
Robert W. Meyer, MD
Thomas R. Miller, MD
Samuel T. Moore, III, MD
John H. Muehlstein, MD
John M. Naame, MD
David J. Nelson, MD
Wendell J. Newcomb, MD
George E. Omer, Jr., MD
Aaron W. Perlman, MD
W. John Robb, Jr., MD
Carl J. Roncaglione, MD
Stuart Wells Russell, MD
Edward V. Schaffer, MD
Laurence R. Schechter, MD
Thomas F. Scott, MD
Wesley E. Scott, MD
Robert C. Shoemaker, MD
Robert G. Smith, MD

George A. Snook, MD
Robert A. Sobel, MD
Alvin Stander, MD
H. Todd Stradford, MD
Theodore B. Strange, MD
William S. Stryker, MD
Jonathan S. Swift, MD
Robert G. Thompson, MD
John Franklin Tillotson, MD
Jack C. Tippett, MD
S. Fulton Tompkins, MD
Allen O. Tuftee, MD
John C. Williams, MD
Robert T. Willingham, Jr., MD
Loyal K. Wilson, MD
Philip D. Wilson, Jr., MD
Richard C. Wixson, MD
James N. Worcester, Jr. MD
Vincent Zecchino, MD

Post Office Editorial:

Director/Executive Producer
David Berez

Craig Fisher

Production Manager
Sian Evans

Office Manager
Melissa MacCoole

Photo Editor
Allison Carroll

Copy Editor
Joan Phaup

Production Assistant
Nate Bowman

Lisa Baker

Art Director
Joe Ryan

Web Master
Benjamin Duffy

Penobscot Bay Media:

Project Manager
Heidi Hunt

Website Design & Production
JaneA Kelley

Quality Assurance
Renée Heal

Flash Programming
Kirk Holbrook


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed herein are not necessarily
those of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons.

Copyright ©2002-2019 American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, All Rights Reserved
Site by Penobscot Bay Media